A new year, a new season….

It’s been a while since I last sat down and wrote a blog post, so get set for a bit of a novel. I’ll try to keep it short and sweet! Enjoy….

After what I can only call the perfect off season in NZ I’m back in the US preparing for the season ahead. When I arrived home after last year’s season, I didn’t expect such an action packed and successful off season, as I assured myself I wanted to peak later in the season. But at my age I guess it’s easier to surprise yourself, with little experience and the huge amount you can physically and mentally mature over a matter of months. Everyone I’ve met insists I’m at least 22. As long as when I’m 40 they think I’m 30, then I’ll roll with it!

Herald Sun Tour, Arthurs Seat Climb

Herald Sun Tour, Arthurs Seat Climb

With a laid back approach I surely did surprise myself in the ‘offy’(off season), scoring a few results along the way, a fine young lady, a few awesome trips round NZ and Aussie and all topped off with a National Title. There’s always something inspiring about racing for your country, and now being able to represent NZ at every race this season, I’m hugely motivated and ready to rip it! A huge thanks to all my supporters back home who have helped me over the past few months!

6119_10152414560005311_960678330_n

Winning 2013 U23 Road Race, 3rd Overall

580466_10152414560905311_1801396048_n

Podium and Jersey, Stoked!

In October of 2012 I started working with Dan Healey to help me with my training. Using his huge wealth of knowledge with power training and nutrition, I’ve felt a large improvement in my form and consistency of holding good form. With his brains and the experience of a current World-Tour pro overlooking my training, I feel I’m in good hands, and the stress of about worrying about form has floated out the window.

Post Bay Criterium in Aussie. Fun in the sun, a choice 3rd for the day!

Post Bay Criterium in Aussie. Fun in the sun, a choice 3rd for the day!

282840_10151329069057403_102425971_n

Some family support from across the ditch at Sun Tour

I definitely feel a lot more comfortable with my current situation, as compared to this time last year. Coming in to my second year with the now Bontrager Cycling Team, I find myself focused on the important things, and knowing what to expect. It’s crazy how much a years’ experience can change ones view. I can’t thank people like Scott and Vanessa Guyton and the Northeys’ who have guided me along the way since a school boy; they’ve help set me up with a huge base of experience to build from.

The best supporters! Lucky I won, they spray painted my name in gold on the road....

The best supporters! Lucky I won, they spray painted my name in gold on the road….

I love NZ. A shot from my South Island travels

I love NZ. A shot from my South Island travels

I’m now in Boulder, settling in to the new team house following a solid but very enjoyable team camp with the Bontrager Cycling Team boys in Buellton, California. Buellton is a funny little town inland of Santa Barbara, about 3 hours north of Los Angeles. The home of pea soup(never had any?) and who knows what else. However it set the perfect base for some choice training with the team and sponsors. A normal day at training camp would go like this….wake up around 7 and head down to breakfast…chill out until its ride time, usually between 9 or 10am….ride anywhere from 3 to 6 hours….lunch….massage/chill out/sponsor meetings/media time….dinner. Training camps are really the most relaxing time for us riders; we hardly lift a finger thanks to our amazing staff. I often feel lazy watching the staff rushed off their feet, but hey hey, I’m not complaining! Sometimes training camps can be a little hectic, as guys go hotel room crazy, as you can see below…

Don't ask....

Don’t ask….

Always good times with Comedian and sometimes Soigneur, Reed

Always good times with Comedian and sometimes Soigneur, Reed

So for the next two weeks or so I’m based in Boulder, Ice cold Colorado. Before I left for the States I was a little unsure of my plans post training camp, as spring racing for the team was not finalised. But like most of my year so far, it’s all fell in to place nicely, and I’m happy with what the future holds. At the moment I’m solo dolo in the team house, as the Euros who will also live here flew home post camp, so I’ve got plenty of thinking time, probably too much ha! Luckily I know my way round Boulder and plan on catching up with a few of the awesome locals who helped me out last year.

Representing home everyday!

Representing home everyday!

A bit of a shock to the system

A bit of a shock to the system

After some good Altitude training up here in Boulder, I’ll be jetting off to Europe to start my season with Bontrager in the middle of March. It’ll be straight to Belg to meet up with teammates then down to Portugal, to line up for Volta Ao Alentejo, a 4 day tour on some rolling terrain. I’m really looking forward to the first races of the season. The team, with the addition of some new riders for 2013, is looking really strong and should be very impressive. Following Portugal I’m amped to be heading over to Girona, Spain to train with some fellow kiwis before jumping back to Belg for U23 Liège-Bastogne-Liège. Liège is a big goal of mine for 2013 and in my opinion probably has one of the ‘coolest’ courses for a one day race. Just imagine racing through the Waitakere’s with a euro twist..

Trek 7 Series Madone for 2013. Goes really good!

Trek 7 Series Madone for 2013. Goes really good!

Trek Speed Concept and Team kit for 2013

Trek Speed Concept and Team kit for 2013

Following this time pedalling round Europe, it will be straight back to Boulder to prepare for the Tour of Gila that starts the 1st of May and hopefully, to be followed by the Tour of California (TBC).
I plan on keeping my blog updated and have some cool video footage to accompany it, as some would say a VLOG, so stayed tuned guys and gals! There will be some sweet videos from Training Camp popping up soon too, so keep your eyes peeled.

The boys. Bontrager Cycling Team 2013

The boys. Bontrager Cycling Team 2013

I hope you have enjoyed the read, and if you wish to stay tuned for more regular updates, jump on facebook or follow me on twitter….

https://www.facebook.com/james.oram.754?ref=tn_tnmn and…

Chur!
Oram

One response to “A new year, a new season….

  1. Looking good James, good luck for the season, we will continue to cope with the hot weather down here…ha!
    Lance

Leave a comment